If you’re a reader, writer, or any kind of self-described book nerd, you’ve probably heard this term being thrown around. But what does this ecosystem encompass? And why is it important for all of us to understand how it works?

Am I considering a diversity of authors (e.g. experienced, local, debut, BIPOC, LGBTQ+, etc.) that I’d like to support? Am I including the kinds of stories that I’d like to see more of, especially if those stories are underrepresented? Is there a book I borrowed from the library that I loved enough to buy, so I can further support that author? Am I buying from a retailer I want to support?

Curious to learn more about what goes on behind the scenes of the literary ecosystem? Get started by digging into what we’ve written about publishers, booksellers, and libraries.