The 62-year-old bestselling science writer didn’t intend to become a science writer, though. In a 2013 interview with The Verge, she said she goes into each book topic without much prior knowledge: “I come into a book with the same sense of awe as my readers. I’m discovering all of this stuff with them at the same time, this feeling of ‘holy shit, I cannot believe that!’” If you read even a single chapter of one of her books, it’s easy to see her unabashed love and fascination for the weirdness of human existence. No topic is too mundane. Her next book, Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law, about the intersection of humans and animals, comes out in September and I cannot wait to get my paws on it. In the meantime, here are the books to get you started with Mary Roach’s work and start viewing the world in a new way.

Reading Pathway: Mary Roach

For more deep dives into a single author’s catalog, be sure to check out our Reading Pathways archive.

Reading Pathways  Mary Roach Books - 72Reading Pathways  Mary Roach Books - 49Reading Pathways  Mary Roach Books - 76