Soon enough, my group chats were blowing up, my Twitter feed was full of lyrics and hot takes, and I had to ask Alexa to please play the new Beyoncé. Now, I cannot claim to be a member of the notorious Beyhive, but I always enjoy her music and definitely still listen to Lemonade from start to finish on occasion. She is a living legend and her talent is unquestionable. However, for me, it’s what King Bey (as she calls herself in “Cozy”) stands for that is so important. It’s the activism for me. Beyoncé is a cultural icon who repeatedly advocates and creates space for women, particularly Black women, and queer folks to be loud, proud, and free. Her work is about liberation. As she said on her instagram post about the album, her “intention was to create a safe place, a place without judgment.” Of course, Beyoncé’s music is for everyone. Still, we cannot deny that it is particularly for those of us who have been marginalized. My favorite headline so far calls Renaissance “a big, gay mess” and, honey, it’s meant as a compliment. The album is full of queer voices, including frequent Beyoncé collaborator Big Freedia. In the few days since the album’s release, there have been a number of thoughtful, insightful examinations of its meaning and implications from people much smarter than me. The references to and inclusions of Black historical figures will undoubtedly lead to even more great think pieces. Thus, I won’t try to step into that lane here. Instead, I’m going to suggest books that match the vibe and substance of the album. According to Queen Bey herself, Renaissance is meant to “a place to scream, release, feel freedom.” So this book list is going to be an unapologetically Black, queer, feminist celebration. And because I’m me, I’m going to offer both a children’s book and an adult book for selected tracks. Buckle up! I’m going to leave you with a few books that reflect this vibe. I hope you feel free and whole. I hope, like Queen Bey, you can say “I’m building my own foundation…you won’t break my soul!”

Hood Feminism by Mikki Kendall Eloquent Rage by Brittney Cooper Black Girls Must Die Exhausted by Jayne Allen A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow Please by Black Girl Bliss How We Fight for Our Lives by Saeed Jones We Have Always Been Here by Samra Habib Sylvia and Marsha Start a Revolution by Joy Michael Ellison & Teshika Silver Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 27Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 15Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 92Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 38Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 16Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 33Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 93Love Beyonc  s Renaissance  Read these Books  - 45