Maybe it’s that last revelation that really got me: the fact that horror explores our darkest impulses. In a world in which girls are raised to be “good,” whatever that means (and I was such a goody-goody), horror allowed me to indulge my darkest self, the ugly thoughts and the hateful impulses so many of us are forced to keep hidden. And demons? Well, they feel like a physical manifestation of that darkness and that ugliness and that hate. What’s not to love? Whether served up in films about Satanic cults (as in Hereditary) or in television series like Archive 81 (give us a second season, Netflix!), or in the books below, I love me some demonic horror. Here are a few I’ve enjoyed. Still hungry for more? Check out this list of 8 horror books about demons.

Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 40Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 9Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 5Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 67Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 1Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 71Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 95Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 19Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 25Demonic Horror Books That Will Possess Your Heart - 2