If you want happier suggestions, BR has you covered with Five Books to Read When Life Feels Like it Sucks, 20 pop culture books to distract you, and reading for pleasure while things fall apart. Maybe you just have a short attention span right now or you’re thinking about your socially-distanced winter. It makes sense to prepare yourself mentally. We’ve also got you covered if you’re dealing with the difficulty of how to Fight the Suck when writing. However, I have found myself embracing my darker mood reading a bit more these days. I am really not sure why. For whatever reason, I’ve wanted to go deeper into the parts of my TBR I usually skip over. I suppose these reflect my own personal worries. So here is a list of some of the books I’ve read or want to reread because things look darker in the wider world than I’d like.

Fiction That Fits My Mood

Those Lost or Sacrificed

Nonfiction for Darker Reading

Things That Have Gone Wrong in the World Before

Things That Go Wrong for People Wherever They Live

This brings me to the end of my dark mood reading list. I am sure I will have more to add at another time. If you’re still looking for something to match your dark mood, try some of these 2020 post-apocalyptic titles. I know I’ve already added some to my TBR.

Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 22Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 38Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 22Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 22Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 43Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 81Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 6Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 53Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 32Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 98Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 71Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 31Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 98Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 71Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 58Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 23Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 49Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 29Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 83Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 72Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 37Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 60Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 98Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 3Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 79Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 39Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 53Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 68Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 93Dark Mood Reading That s Working For Me - 69