Many people see the 20s as the decade when people figure out who they truly are. It’s also the decade of many people’s first moves into independence. Both of these goals can involve a lot of exploration. People then envision the 30s as the decade people “settle down.” I reject these notions because they’re saddled with a lot of limited (and often heteronormative, classist, ableist) thinking about how to make a life. But I do think that if you’ve worked on independence in your 20s, the 30s are a good time to work on interdependence. How you relate to others, how you relate to past and future versions of yourself, and how you connect to the world at large. Any list of books to read in your 30s is going to be wildly idiosyncratic. Ultimately, read what you want! But we at Book Riot always encourage people to Read Harder. So I’ve set these goals that I believe are especially worthy and timely for thirtysomethings.

Goal: Upend a Childhood Fave

Goal: Find Delight

Goal: Read a Classic

Goal: Recognize That Parents Are Their Own People

Goal: Envision the Future

Goal: Confront Mortality

Goal: Blow Up Everything You Know

Goal: Engage With the Present

Goal: Find Your Family

Goal: Get Epic

In Summary

I hope these reading goals have stirred something in you. I do recognize that some people want more practical approaches to books to read in your 30s, so I will point you in a couple other directions. Maybe you are looking to be more productive, love yourself more, or be more confident. We’ve got also got suggestions for genuinely helpful books.  I’ll end with an anecdote of encouragement. When I was in my early 20s, I had a roommate in her 80s (long story). When her friends would come around for snacks and wine, she’d often invite me to join in. The conversations were lively, flowing this way and that. One of the women mentioned offhandedly that she had no idea what she was doing with her life until she was in her 40s. I was aghast. But now I wonder if she was actually ahead of schedule. If you’re seeking books to read in your 30s hoping for the key to unlocking the mystery of your life’s purpose, I don’t know if any of these books (or any book at all) can accomplish that. But they’ll be trusty companions on your journey nonetheless.

An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 29An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 58An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 55An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 21An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 85An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 58An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 80An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 41An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 57An Unconventional Decade  10 Books to Read in Your 30s - 68