But, I’d like you as a reader to take this poetic journey with me. Even though I am familiar with the topics that are discussed on this list, I still feel as though I am a novice when it comes to reading and dissecting poetry. Some of the poetry might seem traumatic as issues such as misogynoir, patriarchy, homophobia and racism can be topics that are addressed, but there are a lot of Black joy themes as well. Poetry can be short and sweet or it can be long, complicated, and dense — similar to everyday life. But these particular poems make me understand that my lived experiences aren’t supposed to be in a box. In fact, they can be lively, intimate, fulfilling and experiences that are instrumental to my growth as a reader and a person. I encourage you to take a gander at this list of nine poetry books that highlight the Black experience over the course of generations and locations.

Poetry That Highlights The Black Experience

Looking for more poetry? Check out this list and make sure to add these poetry books to your lists.

9 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 839 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 99 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 549 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 859 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 39 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 729 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 949 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 639 Poetry Books That Capture The Black Experience - 35