Don’t get me wrong, I like nature. Truly, I want the nature-y parts of the world to continue to thrive and be happy. I just want that while I look upon the view from inside, where I am safe, clean, and warm. Please understand that I don’t wish the natural world ill, I’m just not particularly comfortable when I am in it. Sitting on a patio for a drink is nice, but then wasps come buzzing around and I can’t think of anything else, so I’ll end up wiggling around, pretending to sensibly adjust my clothes but actually dodging insects. In a truly baffling state of affairs, I moved to a city where people love the outdoors. So all of that to say, save your tiny humans from a lifetime of sitting alone while their friends go skiing, or whatever outside activities people do. It’s too late for me, but not for them — embrace these kids’ books about the outdoors. My theory is that if you start them young with books, it’ll be easier to get them to have fun in the actual outside world. There it is, six new kids’ books about the outdoors that I am confident will get your young readers on the path to appreciating the outside world.

6 of the Best Kids  Books About the Outdoors - 916 of the Best Kids  Books About the Outdoors - 396 of the Best Kids  Books About the Outdoors - 56 of the Best Kids  Books About the Outdoors - 286 of the Best Kids  Books About the Outdoors - 406 of the Best Kids  Books About the Outdoors - 53