This is a true story. When An American Marriage by Tayari Jones first came out, my book club discussed it. I was the one who suggested the book for my book club, actually. I read the book. I loved it. I was excited about discussing it with my book club friends. Then I got called into work last minute and I wasn’t able to go to the meeting. So I never got to talk about An American Marriage with anyone else, and that’s bothered me for a while. This book is such a great one to open up a dialogue about so many topics: racism, feminism, the justice system in America, marriage, family, responsibility, and so on. I’ve recommended this book to people I hardly know in the hopes that they’ll talk to me about some of these things. And you know what? No such luck yet. But if I could go back in time and go to that book club meeting I missed, I would ask these questions about Tayari Jones’s amazing novel An American Marriage. Book Deals Newsletter Sign up for our Book Deals newsletter and get up to 80% off books you actually want to read. Thank you for signing up! Keep an eye on your inbox. By signing up you agree to our terms of use

10 An American Marriage Book Club Questions For Tayari Jones’s Novel

Need more ideas for An American Marriage book club questions or any other book your club discusses? Check out Book Riot’s Book Club Discussion Questions. These 40 questions are great for any book.

10 An American Marriage Book Club Questions - 78